Super Nintendo Meets Makeover

You’re never gonna guess what I did today.

Some of you may be shocked,  some may be horrified. Others will be delighted and amazed. Hopefully.

Backstory: A few months ago I decided I wanted to get a Super Nintendo. We had one when my brother and I were kids and I loved playing it! Truth be told I never quite managed to advance on to more complex controllers. And the whole shooting people in the face thing… Not quite my style. So after searching Ebay and Craigslist I finally got one!

It was in good condition and worked really well, but just due to age the top of it had turned a yellowish grey color… I know, not pretty.

SNES pre-makeover

Not being one to settle for owning dirty, ugly things, I decided to do something about it!

So, I went to the store, got me some of that cool colored duct tape, and got to work!

I had a hard time deciding what color to do it in- I eventually settled on the pink/orange tie-dye, and I actually like it a lot more than I thought I would.

I started around the edges, getting the big strips on first.

One of the most difficult parts was getting tape around the vents on the back of the SNintendo. I wasn’t quite sure how to proceed at first, but then decided on cutting out tiny strips to put between the holes, and covered the edges of them with more tape.

This pic is probably easier to see, not being upside down and all..
Ta-da!

A couple of the strips of tape were too wide, so after rummaging around the junk drawer for something that would fit in the vents, I settled on the pointy end of one of my headbands. What can I say? A girl’s gotta work with what she’s got.

The cool thing is that all this only took about an hour and was pretty fun too! Now I have an awesome, unique SNES to take to OSU with me! :)

Hugs & Kisses!

~lovelyheartedlady

5 thoughts on “Super Nintendo Meets Makeover

  1. You should have definitely taken several hundred photographs of the process and made a time lapse video with the Super Mario Bros. theme playing in the background.

    1. Too bad I didn’t have you around to give me that idea sooner! But no way am I undoing all that work just for a video. :P Plus I’m pretty sure I don’t know how to do a time lapse photo video. :D

  2. Pretty impressive work indeed!

    I wish i could do something similar. Too bad i don’t have the patience and creativity to do so haha.

Leave a Reply

